Day 1

Ok…..after 37 years of working with the last 28 at Verizon, I am officially retired.  Today is Day 1.  I’m really not sure what to do so I thought I’d try blogging about my journey.  All of the experts tell you to have a plan.  I was to busy to figure out a plan so here I am.  My main goals are to:

  • Get healthy and spend plenty of time exercising
  • Read
  • Travel
  • Take courses and keep my mind active

I think the first thing to do is to is figure out a routine.  I have had a routine most of my life so how do I get going.  Luckily, work has been light for the last couple of months and I have been working primarily at home so I have been exercising for a couple of hours a day but not at the same time or place.  There is so much to do that it seems a bit overwhelming!  So – let’s break it down.

  • Assume that I have the hours 8-6 to fill each day – 10 hours – how does that go?
  1. let’s start with the most important – exercise – let’s say 3 hours to give me time to walk in the neighborhood and drive to the gym to work out
  2. 1 hour to read
  3. 1 hour on “business related things” – paying bills, dealing with real estate agents, all those yechy things that we have to do but are a drag
  4. 2 hours working on the house – getting it organized, ready for sale etc
  5. 2 hours for meals – an hour for breakfast and an hour for lunch
  6. 1 hour for just down time
Ok….the 10 hours are filled already.  So far today, I’m already behind the 8-ball – all I have done today is a 1 hour walk and starting this blog and it is already lunchtime!  Maybe I’ll do better tomorrow. So if I figure out how this blog works and if I get it out there then I will keep you posted on my journey and welcome ideas on how to make this period of my life great.
Leave a Reply

