Batman v Superman: “Yawn” of Justice

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

I like a good super heroes movie but this is not one of them. It is way too long for starters. There is nothing worse than having to sit through a bad movie for over 2 1/2 hours. In addition, it all takes place in the dark at night so it is very hard to see your watch to check the time. There is a lot more going wrong than right in this film.   For one thing, the basic premise is never fully explained adequately i.e. why the heck are Batman and Superman fighting in the first place.  Kind of an important element in order to get engaged with the plot.  Half way through the movie, you no longer care and secretly wish they’d just kill each other so that there won’t be any more sequels.

The plot is almost non-existent with constant back and forth changes between characters that makes little to no sense. There is no real suspense, character development or any other aspect of a film that makes for a pleasant experience.   I must admit, I slept during most of the first hour and didn’t miss a thing. Every time my daughter hit me to wake me up, whatever was going on was so not compelling that I just went back to sleep. Ultimately the loud noises kept me awake.

If there is anything positive to say about the film, it is the casting. Ben Affleck actually nailed it as the older brooding Batman. Gao Gadot was intriguing as Wonder Woman and an all Wonder Woman sequel would not be a bad thing. Laurence Fishbourne, Dianne Lane, and Amy Adams were all fine but wasted in this film given the lousy writing. Even the music by Hans Zimmer was over the top and added nothing to the film (and I like Hans Zimmer scores). I am unfamiliar with Zach Snyder (the Director) but I’d suggest that based on this film (and others that my daughter has negative things to say about) that not only should you skip this one but also any other films that he does.

 

Leave a Reply

